Somerset Patriots Win Sixth All-time Atlantic League Title

The Somerset Patriots clinched the 2015 Atlantic League Championship by defeating the Southern Maryland Blue Crabs 3-1 in the best-of-five series.

The Patriots defeated the Blue Crabs 3-1 in Game Four behind another dominant performance by Playoff MVP Roy Merritt (3-0), who allowed an unearned run with six strikeouts in seven innings of work.

“He didn’t have his best stuff, but he did what he had to do to get tough outs. He pounded the zone and his performance speaks for itself,” said catcher Adam Donachie, who won his first professional championship in his fourth season in Somerset. 

Somerset took a 1-0 lead on a solo home run by designated hitter Thomas Neal (1).

“I was just looking to stay in the middle of the field and continue to swing the bat the best I can. He threw a slider and I stayed on it and was fortunate enough to hit-put a good swing on it-and hit it out,” Neal said.

The Blue Crabs answered in the bottom of the second after an error by Robert Andino extended the inning and allowed Jamar Walton to score on an RBI single by Fred Lewis that evened up the score at 1-1.

The Patriots broke the tie with two runs in the seventh. With the bases loaded, David Vidal scored on a passed ball and Neal once again played the hero with an RBI single to provide the 3-1 final.

Merritt was named the Playoff MVP for his 3-0 record, 0.41 ERA and 12 strikeouts in 22 innings pitched. He pitched in two deciding playoff games and won both, including a complete game in Game Five of the Liberty Division Series.

“Roy’s our big game guy. He’s a guy that we’ve loved in every situation the last two years, in any critical situation. That’s one thing about the post season. You never know who can handle that load. We know he can. We have a history with him and know we want him out on the mound,” Somerset Patriots manager Brett Jodie said.

The 2015 Atlantic League Championship marks the first of Brett Jodie’s career as Somerset Patriots manager. He won one as a player with the team in 2003 and two as pitching coach in 2008 and 2009.

The championship is the sixth for the Somerset Patriots, who have previously won in 2001, 2003, 2005, 2008, and 2009.

The Somerset Patriots would like to thank their fans for a Championship 2015 Season. For more information about the team, visit Patriots LHP Roy Merritt (3-0, 0.41 ERA) was named postseason MVP.

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

October 2022
September 2022
August 2022
July 2022
June 2022
May 2022
April 2022
March 2022
February 2022
January 2022
December 2021
November 2021
October 2021
September 2021
August 2021
July 2021
June 2021
May 2021
April 2021
March 2021
February 2021
January 2021
December 2020
November 2020
October 2020
September 2020
August 2020
July 2020
June 2020
May 2020
April 2020
March 2020
February 2020
January 2020
December 2019
November 2019
October 2019
September 2019
August 2019
July 2019
June 2019
May 2019
April 2019
March 2019
February 2019
January 2019
December 2018
November 2018
October 2018
September 2018
August 2018
July 2018
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
January 2018
December 2017
November 2017
October 2017
September 2017
August 2017
July 2017
June 2017
May 2017
April 2017
March 2017
February 2017
January 2017
December 2016
November 2016
October 2016
September 2016
August 2016
July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015